LANSING — With the summer months fast approaching, Michigan State Police and local police agencies are cracking down on drivers who aren’t wearing seat belts all across Michigan.
The three-week “Click It or Ticket” campaign began Monday. During this period, police across the state will be enhancing their seat belt enforcement.
“Wearing a seat belt is the most effective thing drivers can do to reduce injuries and save lives on our roadways,” Alicia Sledge, Office of Highway Safety Planning interim director, said. “The numbers don’t lie. For decades, we have strongly encouraged everyone to buckle up, and that crucial message has saved many lives.”
In 2020, 228 people were killed in vehicle crashes while not wearing a seat belt.
According to the Office of Highway Safety Planning, the seat belt usage rate in 2021 for Michigan was 92.6 percent and nationally was at 90.4 percent.
State law requires drivers, front-seat passengers and passengers 15 and younger in any seating position to be wearing a seat belt. Children must be in a car seat or booster seat until they are 8-years-old or 4 feet, 9 inches tall and children under 4 must be in the back seat.
Not wearing a seat belt could result in fines of at least $65.
Leave a Reply